I was born in Martinique, a French island located in the Caribbean. When I was five years old my family moved to France for work. I did not have a good relationship with my family and in my adolescence, the differences with them increased until I was 21. After several arguments, my mother expelled me from the family house for refusing to pay the rent. That was the first time I started sleeping on the streets, that happened in Paris and I was in that situation for four years. After that I found a job and started to work as a Chef in different countries: after France came Spain, Holland and Mexico, where I lived for a year.

In '95 I arrived in London for the first time. I was in Paris and someone I knew recommended me to a French restaurant to work as a chef when I arrived in London the address and the restaurant didn’t exist. It was winter I didn’t know anyone in the city, and I had no money or place to sleep. That afternoon after trying to find the restaurant, I asked a man who answered me in French and passed me the information of another nearby French restaurant. This night I had gotten work and a home.  Some call it good luck, I think it's something energetic or someone who takes care of me.

After working in London for a few years, I raised money to open my own restaurant in Brighton with my partner. The first few years worked well but then the couple's problems began and the economic problems as well. In 2013 I decided to separate from my girlfriend and left the restaurant, the house and Brighton to return to Paris. Shortly after I had a serious accident and I was in a coma for a few days, for which I had to return later to my family's house where I had the time to recover from the accident. After my recovery, the family problems returned and I went back to sleeping on the street in Paris, alternating between the street and the car.

After a while in that situation, I decided to return to London on December 5, 2018. At first, I began to sleep in a hostel but that closed and from there I lost all my savings. A few weeks ago, I started sleeping on the street. I sleep near Seymour Place, in a parking lot that is closed at night and there I found a safe place to sleep. Being on the streets this time I have met many good people, from different nationalities, people who helped me and people I help. One of them told me about Seymour Place and that's why I came here. I am an English teacher and chef and I would like a job related to it, to help me get off the streets and start my life again.

  • Help more people like Carl by donating to WLM and help us support more homeless people off the streets and into accommodation.
  • Become a WLM volunteer and change the lives of others in Carl's community.